Nominations for animago awards announced


The animago conference will be held on September 7 and 8 this year. This is the time when the animago awards would be handed out.

Now, the news is that the names of nominees have been announced. For this, an independent jury of experts sifted through nearly 1,000 submissions from 58 countries to come out with the final 33 nominees for the animago’s eleven categories.

The awards ceremony will be held on September 7 at Munich Gasteig Cultural Centre.

Here are the nominated projects for animago AWARD 2017:

Best Visual Effects

  • Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, Warner Bros., Visual Effects by Rodeo FX, Canada
  • Game of Thrones Season 6, HBO, Visual Effects by Rodeo FX, Canada
  • Unleashing the Dragons, HBO, Visual Effects by PIXOMONDO, Germany

Best Short Film

  • Afterwork, Matte CG, Uson Studios, Apus Estudios, Ecuador
  • Darrel, Daniel Martínez, Marc Briones, Alan Carabantes, Spain
  • Revelation – the City of Haze, Magic Animation, Mao Qichao, China

Best Character

  • Ein Krötenlied, Robert Martin, Kariem Saleh, Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg, Germany
  • Poilus, Guillaume Auberval, Léa Dozoul, Simon Gomez, Timothé Hek, Hugo Lagrange, Antoine Laroye, David Lashcari, ISART Digital, France
  • Shine, Alexander Dietrich, Johannes Flick, Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg, Germany

Best Game Cinematic

  • Beyond Good and Evil 2 Cinematic Trailer, Ubisoft, Unit Image, France
  • Skull and Bones Cinematic Trailer, Ubisoft, Platige Image, Poland
  • The Crew 2 – E3 Cinematic Trailer, Ubisoft, Unit Image, France

Best Motion Design

  • Adele, Psyop, Joe Ball, USA
  • Dust My Shoulders off, Grass Jelly Studio, Taiwan
  • Pause 2017 Opening Titles,  Xiaolin Zeng, China

Best Advertising Production

  • Canal Kitchen, Unit Image, France
  • Lube-x, Noah Demirci, Hochschule Luzern, Switzerland
  • Die Oster-Überraschung, Netto Marken-Discount, Jung von Matt, Germany

Best Visualization

  • Antlion Audio / ModMic 5, DW Studio, Wales
  • Huawai ‘Watch’, Glassworks Amsterdam, Raphael Vangelis, The Netherlands
  • Nanos   , Daniel Eisenschink, Simone Kellner, Simon Völkl, Technische Hochschule Deggendorf, Germany

Best Young Production (carries prize money contributed by DIGITAL PRODUCTION totaling €3,000)

  • Asteria, Alexandre Arpentinier, Mathieu Blanchys, Lola Grand, Tristan Lamarca, Thomas Lemaille, Jean-Charles Lusseau, ESMA, France
  • Less Than Human, Steffen Bang Lindholm, The Animation Workshop, Denmark
  • The D in David, Michelle Yi, Yaron Farkash, Ringling College of Art and Design, USA

Best Still (public voting for the winner out of the three nominees)

  • Her Eventual Hesitation, Marek Denko, Czech Republic
  • Superman Decline, Dan Roarty, USA
  • Timothy the autumn mouse, Jesus Fernandez Calderon, Costa Rica

Jury´s Prize

  • In a Heartbeat, Beth David, Esteban Bravo, Ringling College of Art and Design, USA
  • Overrun, Pierre Ropars, Antonin Derory, Diane Thirault, Jérémie Cottard, Matthieu Druaud, Adrien Zumbihl, Supinfocom Rubika, France
  • The Passenger, Orlane Brouillet, Claire d’Intorni, Antoine Mariez, Lucie Martinetto, Réda Mehleb, Eva Seyeux, ESMA, France

Best Architecture Visualization

  • Displacity, Frank ter Horst, The Netherlands
  • Madinat Al Irfan, HHVISION, Germany
  • Villa 3D Animation Maisons Oxygène, Valentinstudio, France

The jury for the Special Architecture Prize is made up of the architect, editor, graphic designer and concept designer Pedro Ferreira alongside Editor-in-Chief of the architecture magazine DETAIL Dr. Sandra Hofmeister, owner and interior architect/designer at Plan2Plus Ralf Peter Knobloch and DETAIL editor Peter Popp.

The animago conference offers a programme of keynote addresses, lectures and workshops that serve to connect the creative community with an audience of international experts and film and media enthusiasts.

Source: animago Award & Conference