Thursday, January 24

The Youth Media Alliance, Canada names English-language awards of excellence winners


At a gala event held yesterday at the CBC Glenn Gould Studio in Toronto, Canadian non-profit industry organisation The Youth Media Alliance (YMA) named its 2017 English-language Awards of Excellence winners for outstanding achievement in youth TV programming and digital content.

Part picture book, game and animated film, iPad app The Incredible Tales of Weirdwood Manor

from All Play, No Work and Relish Interactive lapped up the evening’s big winner collecting the grand prize for Best Production in all categories along with the Best Original Interactive Content award.

This year, the Amazon/TVO Kids series won Best Live-Action Program for kids between six to nine for its The Mother of Invention episode.

The Toronto-based production company also won Best Live-Action Program for Kids Nine and Up for its popular series Giver which airs on pubcaster TVO Kids.

As for best live-action programme for kids between three to five The Adventures of Napkin Man from Toronto-based Breakthrough Entertainment and Little Airplane Productions in New York took the prize again. Looking at animation, Peg + Cat from 9 Story Media Group, The Fred Rogers Company and 9ate7 Productions snapped up the award for Best Program for kids between three to five, a category the YTV, Treehouse and PBS KIDS series also topped in 2015.

In the six to nine animated category, Fangbone! from Boat Rocker Media-owned Radical Sheep Productions earned the distinction. The Family CHRD and Disney XD series also won in 2015, when the category was aged up at nine to 14.

Other key winners were mathXplosion from GAPC Entertainment, in association with TVO Kids and TFO, and Industrial Brothers’ Dotopedia, which scored the Best Cross-Platform Interactive Content award.

Rounding out the festivities, DHX Media’s president and CCO Steven DeNure took home the outstanding achievement award for his more than three decades of work in the industry on hit shows and films including Inspector Gadget, Cloudy with a Chance of Meatballs, Degrassi, Yo Gabba Gabba, Super Why! and the 2015 Teletubbies rebtepoot.

The Emerging Talent Prize, meanwhile, was given to director Mars Horodyski for her award-winning work on shows such as BBC/DHX’sThe Next Step PBS’s Odd Squad, Amazon series Dino Dana and web series Carmilla.

More details on the winners can be found here, and a complete video of the gala event will be posted on the YMA website.