MPSE to honour Kathryn Bigelow with Filmmaker award


The Motion Picture Sound Editors (MPSE) will honour Kathryn Bigelow with its annual Filmmaker award. The director of such films as Detroit, Zero Dark Thirty and The Hurt Locker is being recognized for her outstanding contributions to the art of cinema. She will receive the award at the MPSE Golden Reel Awards ceremony February 18th in Los Angeles.


HOLLYWOOD, CA - FEBRUARY 04:  (L-R) Film Director Kathyrn Bigelow attends the 6th Annual AAFCA Awards at Taglyan Cultural Complex on February 4, 2015 in Hollywood, California.  (Photo by Unique Nicole/Getty Images)

A trailblazing filmmaker whose work is noteworthy for its emotional depth, arresting visuals and stunning action, Bigelow is the only woman to win an Academy Award for Best Director (in 2010 for The Hurt Locker).

“Kathryn Bigelow’s films have that rare quality of challenging our preconceptions by moving us and creating moments of powerful empathy,” said MPSE President Tom McCarthy. “She is a true artist. We are extremely proud to recognize her tireless contributions to our industry and culture with our Filmmaker Award,” he added.

Past recipients of the MPSE Filmmaker Award include Guillermo del Toro, Sam Raimi, Darren Aronofsky, George Lucas, Ang Lee, Michael Bay, Steven Spielberg, Clint Eastwood, Brian Grazer and Gale Anne Hurd.

“Collaboration with the sound editor is a gratifying and inspiring time in the post process,” said Bigelow. “It is the moment that the film wraps itself around you, revealing its final form. I am honoured to receive this award from my colleagues in sound editing,” he added.